Flagship £760m drive to cut sickness benefit bill fails – but Iain Duncan Smith plans similar welfare projects with private firms

From the Daily Mail 13th September 2010

A flagship £760million scheme which paid private sector firms to slash the number of incapacity benefit claimants has failed, MPs warned last night.

“The Commons public accounts committee delivered a devastating verdict on Labour’s Pathways to Work programme, saying the use of private firms had ‘universally failed’.

That is a blow to Tory Work and Pensions Secretary Iain Duncan Smith, whose plans for welfare reform involve using private contractors to get people back into work in a similar way.

The report also provides fresh ammunition for Chancellor George Osborne, who is locked in a bitter battle with Mr Duncan Smith over the cost of welfare reform.

Mr Duncan Smith wants to plough billions into setting up a new ‘Work Programme’ which will see private sector firms offered financial incentives to get the unemployed back into work.

He believes the move will reap long-term savings for the taxpayer despite initial up-front costs. But the Treasury is sceptical that the scheme will work and wants to find other ways to slash the vast benefits bill.

Last week the Chancellor announced, apparently without informing Mr Duncan Smith, that he had identified a further £4billion of savings in the welfare budget.

And yesterday it emerged Mr Osborne has pressed for £2.5billion in cuts to the employment and support allowance – the benefit paid to those judged too sick to work…..”

Click here for rest of article

18 thoughts on “Flagship £760m drive to cut sickness benefit bill fails – but Iain Duncan Smith plans similar welfare projects with private firms

  1. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Appreciate it!

  2. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no
    back up. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  4. Hi there! This post could not be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  5. I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  6. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog
    so i got here to go back the want?.I am attempting to to
    find things to improve my web site!I assume its good
    enough to use a few of your ideas!!

  7. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and
    thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page for a second time.

  8. Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.
    That is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll
    definitely comeback.

  9. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read more things about it!

  10. Howdy! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a
    theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this
    issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. With thanks!

  11. I do believe all the ideas you’ve presented for your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too quick for newbies. May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  12. Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your
    blog. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You have performed an excellent job.
    I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

